The Coronavirus outbreak that has affected Italy, making it the biggest outbreak in Europe and one of the worst affected countries in the world, is now threatening the closure of the major races to take stage in Italy in March, they include Strade Bianche, Tirreno-Adriatico and Milano-Sanremo. Many teams and riders are already changing their racing calendars accordingly to avoid being out of action for several days.

The first World Tour casualty of the Coronavirus outbreak was the UAE Tour, which saw stages 6 and 7 cancelled after suspected cases. The riders were tested and after two days, they were cleared as it had been a false alarm and nobody tested positive. The stage race, therefore, concluded with stage 5, crowning Adam Yates of Mitchelton-Scott.

Mathieu Van der Poel and Sacha Modolo, both from Alpecin-Fenix team, had to cancel their plans to race Omloop and Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne respactively, due to flu.

Julian Alaphilippe has announced he will not take part in this year's Milano-Sanremo. Last year's winner wants to lighten the load for the Spring classics campaign.

During Kuurne-Bruxelles-Kuurne, Gianni Moscon (Team INEOS) was disqualified for aggressive conduct after throwing a fellow rider's bike into a ditch following a crash, hitting at least one other riders with it. He then followed to rip his bib numbers off and theatrically rip them and discard them on the road.



UAE Tour (2.UWT)

stage 1: Pascal Ackermann (Bora - hansgrohe)

stage 2: Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal)

stage 3: Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)

stage 4: Dylan Groenewegen (Team Jumbo-Visma)

stage 5: Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates)

stage 6: CANCELLED

stage 7: CANCELLED

GC: Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)

Points: Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal)

Youth: Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates)

Teams: UAE Team Emirates


Omloop Het Nieuwsblad (1.UWT)

Winner: Jasper Stuyven (Trek - Segafredo)


Kuurne-Bruxelles-Kuurne (1.Pro)

Winner: Kasper Asgreen (Deceuninck - Quick Step)


Royal Bernard Drome Classic (1.Pro)

Winner: Simon Clarke (EF Pro Cycling)


Faun-Ardéche Classic (1.Pro)

Winner: Remi Cavagna (Deceuninck - Quick Step)


Omloop Het Nieuwsblad-vrouwen (1.1)

Winner: Annemiek Van Vleuten (Mitchelton Scott)


Spar-Omloop van het Hagerland (1.1)

Winner: Lorena Wiebes (Parkhotel Valkenburg)


Tour du Rwanda (2.1)

stage 1: Yevgeniy Fedorov (Vino - Astana Motors)

stage 2: Mulu Hailemichael (NIPPO DELKO One Provence)

stage 3: Jhonatan Restrepo (Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec)

stage 4: Natnael Tesfatsion (Eritrea)

stage 5: Jhonatan Restrepo (Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec)

stage 6: Jhonatan Restrepo (Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec)

stage 7 ITT: Jhonatan Restrepo (Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec)

stage 8: José Manuel Díaz (NIPPO DELKO One Provence)

GC: Natnael Tesfatsion (Eritrea)

Youth: Natnael Tesfatsion (Eritrea)

KOM: Rein Taaramäe (Team Total Direct Energie)

Teams: Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec


Tour de Taiwan (2.1)

stage 1: Eric Young (Elevate - Webiplex Pro Cycling)


GP Velo Alanya (1.2)

Winner: Daria Malkova (Cogeas - Mettler Pro Cycling Team)


GP Velo Alanya (1.2)

Winner: Daniil Pronskiy (Vino - Astana Motors)


Craft Ster van Zwolle (1.2)

Winner: David Dekker (SEG Racing Academy)


International Rhodes GP (1.2)

Winner: Erlend Blikra (Uno-X Norwegian Development Team)


GP Manavgat - Side (1.2)

Winner: Hannah Tserakh (Minsk Cycling Club)


GP Manavgat - Side (1.2)

Winner: Alan Banaszek (Mazowsze Serce Polski)

Follow me
  • Twitter - Black Circle
This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now