The Tour of Hainan has been cancelled. The present situation in China due to the health scare caused by the spread of the coronavirus makes it impossible to accommodate an international sporting event. The organisers have asked the UCI to have the option to move it to a later date in the year. The Tour of Chongming Island in May is now at risk too.

The Spanish Civil Guard unveiled a three year investigation into the sale of EPO from Spain to athletes of many countries and many sports, including cycling. The names will only be known if the athletes get suspended by their federations as buying banned substances for sports is not a criminal offence in Spain.

38 year old Belarusian rider Vasil Kiryienka (Team INEOS) has retired before the season started for him. Recurring cardiac problems gave the rider no choice but ending his career. He won the World Time Trial Championship in 2015 and was an invaluable domestique for Team Sky/INEOS' many Grand Tour wins.

Triathlete and former Liquigas domestique Cameron Wurf will race for Team INEOS. The Australian 36 year old retired from road racing in 2015.


MEN: The Vuelta a San Juan Internacional, in Argentina, saw a star studded lineup: Sagan, Alaphilippe, Evenepoel, Stybar, Gaviria, Ganna. But the first stage had a somewhat unexpected ending as Rudy Barbier gave Israel Start-Up Nation their first win of the season with a well-timed sprint. A big crash in the last moments, caused by a distracted fan, took out most of the peloton.

Stage 2 was another sprint stage with yet another big crash, causing Christophe Laporte (Cofidis) to abandon with a fracture. Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates) took the bunch sprint.

European TT champion Remco Evenepoel (Deceuninck-QuickStep) won the time trial on stage 3 (and took the lead of the overall classification), beating Filippo Ganna (Team INEOS) and 43 year old Oscar Sevilla (Team Medellin).

Gaviria took his 2nd win on stage 4 from a bunch sprint on a very wet day.

Stage 5 saw the first mountains and the Alto Colorado finish, althought not steep, was long and tiring, over 18km. Miguel Eduardo Flórez (Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec) won the stage, with the overall leader, Evenepoel, only 4 seconds behind.

Stage 6 saw Zdnenek Stybar (Deceuninck-QuickStep) win with a late attack, about 500 metres from the finish, surprising all other sprinters who were hoping for a good finish at the motor racing circuit in the Autodromo El Villicum.

WOMEN: Liane Lippert continued on her great form shown at the Tour Down Under by winning the Cadel Evans' Great Ocean Road Race (WWT). Team Sunweb did a great job on a wet course, and when Lippert attacked in the last kilometres, she was able to maintain a sizeable gap.

MEN: A surprise winner for the Men's Cadel Evans' Great Ocean Road Race, Belgian domestique Dries Devenyns easily won the sprint against Pavel Sivakov (Team INEOS). The latter launched a final attack on the very last rise and only Devenyns was able to follow. The pair kept a gap from the chasers and on the final straight it was the Belgian who managed to kick one more time and take a World Tour victory. He is due to race next in the Ardennes, starting with Amstel Gold.

WOMEN - MEN: The inaugural Race Torquay (1.1) was won by Brodie Chapman (FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope) and Sam Bennett (Deceuninck-QuickStep).

MEN: Matteo Moschetti (Trek-Segafredo) won the First of the 4 races for the Challenge Mallorca (1.1), the Trofeo Felanitx-Ses Salines-Campos-Porreres.

The 2nd race, the Serra de Tramontana went to Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-hansgrohe) who beat Alejandro Valverde by attacking on the final descent.

The 3rd race, Pollença-Andraxt, went to Movistar's Marc Soler with a solo win on an uphill finish.

The 4th and last race, the Trofeo Playa de Palma-Palma, was bookended by Mattie Moschetti, keeping his sprint record at 100% for 2020.

MEN: The rather hilly GP Cycliste La Marseillaise was won on Sunday by Frenchman Benôit Cosnefroy (AG2R La Mondiale).

WOMEN & MEN: At the Colombian's National Chiampionships, Daniel Martinez won the Men's ITT title, beating Nairo Quintana (Arkéa-Samsic) and Egan Bernal (Team INEOS) by half a minute. And by the same margin, Ana Sanabria won the Women's ITT, beating Diana Peñuela of Team TIBCO-SVB.

Maria Catalina Gomez won the Women's National Road Race and Sergio Higuita (EF Pro Cycling) won the men's title after his breakaway companion, Ivan Sosa (Team INEOS) crashed with a few kilometres left on the race.

Follow me
  • Twitter - Black Circle
This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now