The route for the Giro d'Italia Internazionale Femminile has been unveiled and it will have 9 stages, including the longest yet (170 km), longer than the usual UCI limit.

The World Championships due to take place in Switzerland has been cancelled as the country is concerned in containing infections at a time when many parts of the world are showing increases. The UCI is now looking for another venue, preferably with a similar profile, in order to reschedule it this year.

Dan Martin had to abandon the Critérium du Dauphiné with a sacral fracture after a crash on stage 2. On the same stage, many riders were caught in a hailstorm, which started soon after the first riders had crossed the finish line. The hailstones were so intense and big, they damaged helmets and left bruises on some riders. Later in the week, a few riders had to retire for injuries, like Egan Bernal (Team INEOS), Primož Roglič (Team Jumbo-Visma), Nairo Quintana (Arkéa-Samsic). Thibaut Pinot then was given the GC lead but couldn't stop young Colombian Daniel Felipe Martínez to seize the overall with a well-timed and strong attack on the last stage.

15th of August took a very heavy toll on riders. At the Critérium du Dauphiné Bernal did not start stage 4, blaming some problems on his back, then Emanuel Buchmann (BORA - Hansgrohe) and Steven Kruijswijk (Team Jimbo-Visma) crashed out of the race. At Il Lombardia a spectacular crash involved the favourite, Remco Evenepoel (Deceuninck - Quick Step). The young Belgian hit a low wall on a corner into a bridge at high speed and flew over the side. On impact, he broke his pelvis. Later on, Maximilian Schachmann (BORA - Hansgrohe) was hit by a wayward driver who tried to cross the closed road with her car. The German champion broke a collarbone.

The second monument of 2020, Il Lombardia was won by Jakob Fuglsang (Astana Pro Team), helped by teammate Alexandr Vlasov in third place. The pair worked against George Bennett (Team Jumbo-Visma) and three Trek-Segafredo riders, Vincenzo Nibali, Bauke Mollema and Giulio Ciccone. Maximilian Schachmann (BORA - hansgrohe) managed 7th place despite a later crash into a car which took a turn into the closed course. The driver didn't look and chanced it, thus causing the crash and a broken collarbone for the German. Earlier in the race but in its final stages, Remco Evenepoel (Deceuninck - Quick Step) ht a bridge wall on a descent and was thrown over the side into a ravine. The rider fractured his pelvis and damaged a lung.



Il Lombardia (1.UWT)

Winner: Jakob Fuglsang (Astana Pro Team)


Critérium du Dauphineé (2.UWT)

stage 1: Wout Van Aert (Team Jumbo-Visma)

stage 2: Primož Roglič (Team Jumbo-Visma)

stage 3: Davide Formolo (UAE- Team Emirates)

stage 4: Lennard Kämna (BORA - hansgrohe)

stage 5: Sepp Kuss (Team Jumbo-Visma)

GC: Daniel Felipe Martínez (EF Pro Cycling)

Points: Wout Van Aert (Team Jumbo-Visma)

Youth: Daniel Felipe Martínez (EF Pro Cycling)

KOM: David De La Cruz (UAE- Team Emirates)

Team: Team Jumbo-Visma


Gran Piemonte (1.Pro)

Winner: George Bennett (Team Jumbo-Visma)


Dwars door het Hageland (1.Pro)

Winner: Jonas Rickahert (Alpecin-Fenix)


VOO-Tour de Wallonie (2.Pro)

stage 1: Caleb Ewan (Lotto-Soudal)


La Périgord Ladies (1.2)

Winner: Sheyla Gutiérrez (Movistar Team)


Tour Bitwa Warszawska 1920 (2.2)

Prologue: Marceli Boguslawski (Wibatek Merx 7R)

stage 1: Arne Marit (Lotto-Soudal U23)


stage 3: Senne Leysen (Alpecin-Fenix)

stage 4: Oscar Riesebeek (Alpecin-Fenix)

GC: Oscar Riesebeek (Alpecin-Fenix)

Youth: Senne Leysen (Alpecin-Fenix)

Team: Alpecin-Fenix


Baltic Chain Tour (2.2)

stage 1: Alo Jakin (Peloton)

stage 2: Rait Ärm (Tartu 2024 - Balticchaincycling.com)

stage 3: Gert Jõeäär (Estonia)

GC: Gert Jõeäär (Estonia)

Points: Gert Jõeäär (Estonia)

Youth: Rait Ärm (Tartu 2024 - Balticchaincycling.com)

Team: Estonia


Russia National Championships ITT (NC)

Winner: Yelyzaveta Oshurkova (Independent)


Russia National Championships RR (NC)

Winner: Diana Klimova (Cogeas - Mettler Pro Cycling Team)


Russia National Championships RR (NC)

Winner: Sergey Shilov (Ayiludo-Louletano)


Ukraine National Championships RR (NC)

Winner: Mykhaylo Kononenko (Independent)


Portugal National Championships ITT (NC)

Winner: Ivo Oliveira (UAE- Team Emirates)


Portugal National Championships RR (NC)

Winner: Rui Costa (UAE- Team Emirates)


Romania National Championships RR (NC)

Winner: Manuela Muresan


Romania National Championships RR (NC)

Winner: Daniel Crista

Follow me
  • Twitter - Black Circle
This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now