Bernhard Eisel has announced his retirement from the peloton. He was badly injured in 2018 but wanted to retire on his own terms so he stuck around for one more year. He became a pro in 2001 and rode for Mapei-Quick Step, FDJeux.com, T-Mobile, Sky and Dimension Data. He hinted he will pursue a career in this sport off the bike.

Marianne Vos (CCC-Liv) takes a break from cycling to undergo surgery on the groin. She should be able to start training six weeks after the operation.

Patrick Bevin (CCC Team) was admitted to hospital with cardiac arrhythmia. The New Zealander, who was due to race the Tour Down Under, had to postpone his 2020 debut as a precaution after noticing some irregular heartbeats.

Alpecin-Fenix becomes the latest team to join the MPCC (Mouvement pour un Cyclisme Crédible or Movement For Credible Cycling). Of all the World Tour teams only Movistar and Team INEOS are not part of it.


WOMEN: The Santos Women's Tour Down Under (2.Pro) was the first race for UCI points. Chloe's Hosking (Rally Cycling Women) won the bunch sprint on the first stage after the peloton had to chase hard Brodie Chapman (FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope) who went solo with nearly 30km to go. Chapman was finally caught but only inside the last kilometre and Hosking then times a perfect surge to win the stage.

Stage 2 saw Amanda Spratt (Mitchelton-Scott) taking the spoils after attacking with a small group of five riders with just over 20km to go. As the peloton was bearing down on them on the finish straight, Spratt led a very long sprint and crossed the line first.

Stage 3 was decided with another sprint. This time, the run-up to the finish was harder and more undulating. US champion Ruth Winder (Trek-Segafredo) went one better than stage 2 to win after isolating Spratt thanks also to the help of Team Sunweb.

Stage 4, a 25 lap crit around Adelaide, was won by Simona Frapporti (BePink) and crowned Ruth Winder as overall champion of the Tour Down Under. In second place Liane Lippert (Team Sunweb) and in third Amanda Spratt. Liane Lippert almost cleaned up everywhere else, winning the QOM and the Youth jerseys and coming 2nd to her teammate Leah Kirchmann on the Points classification. Team Sunweb was the best team.

MEN: The Vuelta al Tachira (2.2) ended with Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec taking stages 1, 3, 5, 6 and 7 of the 8 stage race. However, the overall classification was won by Roniel Campos from Venezuela.

MEN: The New Zealand Cycle Classic (2.2) crowned Rylee Field (Team BridgeLane).

Follow me
  • Twitter - Black Circle
This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now