Astana Pro Team has yet to pay their riders and staff for January and February. This follows a similar problem back in 2018. Team leader Alexandre Vinokourov blames administrative delays for the lack of funds but assures the press all will be paid.

Paris-Nice went ahead but with crowds restrictions in place, to curb the potential infections from the coronavirus. No fans were allowed close to the riders at the start and around the finish line. However, after the situation worsened and Team Bahrain McLaren left the race after stage 5, ASO, the organisers, decided to end the stage race with stage 7 on Saturday, thus avoiding the urban area of Nice.

Tejay Van Garderen (EF Pro Cycling) left the race prematurely after stage 4 in order to avoid an ensuing travel ban from Europe imposed by the US. His teammate Michael Woods sustained a broken femur, while another member of the team, Lawson Craddock also left the race after having problems with a headache. Mads Pedersen also left the race early as his country, Denmark, is starting a lockdown. Israel Start-Up Nation did not take to the start of the last stage.

The Giro d'Italia is the first Grand Tour to be cancelled. The three-week-long Italian race, following the total lockdown and given the travel restrictions inside and from the country, was due to start in Hungary in May but the Hungarian authorities announced that the scheduled 3 stages had been cancelled as more restrictions were imposed on travel and sporting events. Mauro Vegni, head of the Giro organisers' RCS, hinted at a change of date later in the year.

Fernando Gaviria and Maximiliano Richeze (UAE Team Emirates) are the second and third riders to test positive for coronavirus, after Gazprom-RusVelo's Dmitry Strakhov. The riders have been in isolation since the cancellation of the final two stages of the UAE Tour in Abu Dhabi.

Women's team Alé BTC Ljubljana will stop racing until April 3rd.

All the cancellations due to the ongoing coronavirus outbreak so far are:


  • Strade Bianche (1.WWT)

  • Bevrijdingsronde van Drenthe (1.WWT)

  • AG Driedaagse Brugge-De Panne (1.WWT)

  • Gent-Wevelgem in Flanders Fields (1.WWT)

  • Tour of Chongming Island (2.WWT)

  • The Women's Tour (2.WWT)

  • Danilith Nokere Koerse (1.Pro)

  • Omloop van de Westhoek - Memorial Stive Vermaut (1.1)

  • Dwars door Vlaanderen - A travers la Flandre (1.1)

  • Drentse Acht van Westerveld (1.2)


  • Strade Bianche (1.UWT)

  • Tirreno-Adriatico (2.UWT)

  • Milano-Sanremo (1.UWT)

  • Volta Ciclista a Catalunya (2.UWT)

  • AG Driedaagse Brugge-De Panne (1.UWT)

  • E3 BinckBank Classic (1.UWT)

  • Gent-Wevelgem in Flanders Fields (1.UWT)

  • Dwars door Vlaanderen (1.UWT)

  • Ronde van Vlaanderen - Tour of Flanders (1.UWT)

  • Giro d'Italia (2.UWT)

  • Tour of Hainan (2.Pro)

  • GP Industria & Artigianato (1.Pro)

  • Danilith Nokere Koerse (1.Pro)

  • Bredene Koksijde Classic (1.Pro)

  • GP de Denain - Porte du Hinaut (1.Pro)

  • Presidential Cycling Tour of Turkey (2.Pro)

  • Bevrijdingsronde van Drenthe (1.1)

  • Cholet - Pays de la Loire (1.1)

  • Route Adélie de Vitré (1.1)

  • Settimana Internazionale Coppi e Bartali (2.1)

  • Classic Loire Atlantique (1.1)

  • Volta Limburg Classic (1.1)

  • La Roue Tourangelle Centre Val de Loire - Trophée Harmonie Mutuelle (1.1)

  • Giro di Sicilia (2.1)

  • Circuit Cycliste Sarthe - Pays de la Loire (2.1)

  • Istarsko Proljeće - Istrian Spring Trophy (2.2)

  • Classica da Arrabida - Cyclin'Portugal (1.2)

  • Popolarissima (1.2)

  • Olympia's Tour (2.2)

  • Volta ao Alentejo (2.2)

  • GP Slovenian Istria (1.2)

  • Tour de Normandie (2.2)

  • GP Adria Mobil (1.2)

  • Paris-Troyes (1.2)

  • Tour of the Gila (2.2)

  • Circuit des Ardennes International (2.2)

  • Joe Martin Stage Race (2.2)

  • Vuelta Ciclista del Uruguay (2.2)

  • Sri Lanka T Cup (2.2)

  • Grand Prix Mediterranean (1.2)

  • Grand Prix Justiniano Hotels (1.2)

  • Tour of Mevlana (1.2)

  • Grand-Prix L'Échappée (1.2)



Paris-Nice (2.UWT)

stage 1: Maximilian Schachmann (BORA - hansgrohe)

stage 2: Giacomo Nizzolo (NTT Pro Cycling)

stage 3: Iván García Cortina (Bahrain McLaren)

stage 4: Søren Kragh Andersen (Team Sunweb)

stage 5: Niccolò Bonifazio (Team Total Direct Energie)

stage 6: Tiesj Benoot (Lotto Soudal)

stage 7: Nairo Quintana (Team Arkéa Samsic)

stage 8: CANCELLED

GC: Maximilian Schachmann (BORA - hansgrohe)

Points: Tiesj Benoot (Lotto Soudal)

Youth: Sergio Higuita (EF Pro Cycling)

KOM: Nicolas Edet (Cofidis, Solutions Crédits)

Teams: Team Sunweb


GP de la Patagonia (1.2)

Winner: Jose Tito Hernandez (Team Medellin)

Follow me
  • Twitter - Black Circle
This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now